Reviews



Summary
4.6

Very nice - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant overnight stay, good sized room and friendly helpful staff. Dinner was very good. I hope to spend another night there on my return journey.

Reviewer:C | Sat 20th Jul 2024 | 17 hours ago


Great Food, Lovely Room - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at The Royal Mackintosh a couple of times, when working in that area.The rooms are clean, tidy and the food is really good, also 10 for the staff who are all nice and approachable

Reviewer: Colin H | Fri 19th Jul 2024 | 1 day ago


Excellent place to stay- Rating 5/5

This hotel was perfect in a lovely little village with all you can need. The hotel was very clean and the rooms perfect. Very comfortable bed and good shower. Free parking is plent and the breakfast was excellent, friendly staff a pleasurable stay.

Reviewer: Mike | Mon 8th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Charming hote - Rating 5/5

This was a charming hotel based in Dunbar and had lovely rooms. With excellent breakfast and a nice comfortable bar.

Reviewer: GETHIN| Mon 8th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Overnight Stay- Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, food and drinks fairly priced and good size portions. Rooms are a bit basic but very comfortable. Powerful shower and nice deep bath. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Jakki O | Sun 7th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


Great team and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

We booked out the full hotel to accomodate all of our family and close friends for our son's wedding, which was happening nearby.Lovely rooms, friendly staff, pre-ordered dinner and breaksfasts meant things went smoothly. Great sized restaurant to accomodate a large group having a meal together. Super choice of breakfast and evening meals. Will definetly return when in this area.

Reviewer: Fiona C | Mon 1st Jul 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Nice location close to the sea and Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

The Royal Mackintosh is not the youngest hotel. But knowing that in advance it was absolutely fine. I liked the charm. Breakfast was good, a little pub was there… so all good. The price is probably owing to the proximityto Edinburgh and the season, but we knew that in advance.

Reviewer: Verena | Sun 30th Jun 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Friendly, close to station and fab breakfast - Rating 4/5

I stayed in the Royal Mackintosh for two nights with my mum on a walking holiday in Northumberland and Scotland. Hotel was perfect for our stay - 2 mins from station so it's very easy to visit other places from Dunbar (including Edinburgh just 20 mins on the train), really friendly staff and fantastic breakfast. Hotel is being slowly renovated, so rooms have a few quirks, but nothing that spoiled our stay. Rooms could maybe do with being double glazed as lots of traffic outside, but small price to pay for proximity to station and high street. We really loved Dunbar - fantastic walks and bird watchers will be happy. Hope to come back and hike part of the John Muir Way which starts here. Don't pay crazy prices to stay in Edinburgh, stay in Dunbar...

Reviewer: Liz S | Mon 24th Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Clean hotel and friendly staff- Rating 5/5

Stayed for 1 night with my son. The staff were very friendly and the hotel very clean.

Reviewer: Alliah H | Sun 23rd Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago