Reviews



Summary
4.6

Excellent! - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure staying at the Royal Mackintosh ... from the good food, lovely room and friendly staff.Thoroughly recommend staying there.

Reviewer: Philippa D | Thu 22nd Feb 2024 | 21 hours ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Comfy bed.GoodbreakfastI’ll be back

Reviewer: George T | Thu 22nd Feb 2024 | 21 hours ago


Great thank you- Rating 5/5

Such lovely staff thank you

Reviewer: Susan| Fri 16th Feb 2024 | 6 days ago


Overall recommended - Rating 5/5

The staff were very accommodating as we were jet lagged and got us into our room early. There was a Gail storm blowing and the room was freezing. So bad the blinds were being blown on the inside and could feel the draft. The heating was off during the day but there was a portable one that offered a bit of heat. The staff said they would turn on the central heating for us as they turn it off during the dayWe were so unhappy with the situation that we started looking for alternate hotels. We asked again about the heating and were provided with a second portable heater.The room eventually heated up. The room was clean and well kept apart from the windows ,which were original and need replaced.Had supper in the bar which was excellent.The breakfast (full Scottish) were excellent.We went to a wedding, and as the Central heating was turned off in the morning we left the portable heaters on, as it was still very windy outside and cold. When we returned around 11.30pm the central heating was in the process of cooling down and the portables had been switched off. The room temperature was ok due to the central heating having been on during the afternoon and early evening. We slept through the night with the portables on again and were happy with that.The bed was comfortable.Overall I would recommend the hotel again but not if there is a chance of a gail blowing.

Reviewer: Peter T | Sun 11th Feb 2024 | 1 week ago


not bad - Rating 5/5

first approach to front was disappointing with tins full of cigarette buts.room was fine a bit cold on arrival but was happy to see electric heater in roomfor use.tevening meals were finebreakfast was lukewarm, coffee wasn't very warm but overall room was comfortable

Reviewer: jessiesw1948@gmail.com | Sun 11th Feb 2024 | 1 week ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed over for one night travelling between Newcastle and Edinburgh on business. Had a great experience, superb steak pie, chips and peas in the restaurant with a very nice malbec. Room was super clean, with lovely crisp white bedding and fluffy towels. I had to indulge in the Scottish breakfast which filled me up for the day.

Reviewer: Jonathan D | Tue 30th Jan 2024 | 3 weeks ago


An Absolutely Lovely Stay at The Royal Mackintosh Hotel - Rating 5/5

My adult son and I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight in the Royal Mackintosh Hotel. We were greeted warmly and shown to our very comfortable room. I found our twin room to be extremely pleasant; clean and tidy, fresh white linen, fluffy white towels, a comfortable bed,a clean en-suite bathroom with shower, and Arran toiletries provided.We arrived late and dining had finished however our lovely host suggested places to get a takeaway and suggested we bring it back to enjoy in the hotel bar where plates and cutlery would be provided: this we did. The bar is well- stocked (included a decent selection of non-alcoholic drinks), cosy and a relaxed place to spend a while.After a good night’s sleep ( well-lined quality curtains) we went downstairs to enjoy and great vegan breakfast. Afterwards we had a wander around Dunbar enjoying the castle and a coastal walk along to Belhaven Bay. I would highly recommend a stay in the Royal Mackintosh Hotel. A huge thank you to the wonderful team.

Reviewer: Lynn H | Sun 7th Jan 2024 | 1 month ago


Excellent stay with our 2 dogs - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 1 night with our 2 dogs lovely friendly staff lovely food will definitely stay again

Reviewer: Patricia R | Wed 27th Dec 2023 | 1 month ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Nice clean hotel,well priced,nice staff good food

Reviewer: David B | Sun 17th Dec 2023 | 2 months ago


Great place- Rating 5/5

Lovely place with a great friendly atmosphere. Staff very friendly and so helpful, will be back soon 😄

Reviewer: Gipper | Tue 12th Dec 2023 | 2 months ago